Association of American Universities


The Association of American Universities (AAU) is a collection of 65 research universities in the United States (and Canada) that “earn the majority of competitively awarded federal funding for research that improves public health, seek to address national challenges, and contribute significantly to economic strength while educating and training tomorrow’s visionary leaders and innovations” as described in their mission statement. Not every research university can join - membership is by invitation only.

In 2019, AAU admitted three new institutions to their ranks: Dartmouth College, University of California-Santa Cruz, and University of Utah. The last time the AAU invited another institution among their ranks was Boston University in 2012. What does it take to become a member of AAU? In this project, I explore phase 1 and phase 2 membership indicators, how the 2019 inductees performed along these metrics, and how the University of Houston compares. I worked collaboratively with my colleague Joseph Curtin, Associate Provost, Institutional Research and Effectiveness at the University of Houston. (See PDF at top of page)

Jorge Martinez
Director, Research & Reporting Enrollment Services

I’m Director of Research & Reporting for Enrollment Services at University of Houston.